Same-sex marriage committee named in Parliament

Bill 38, the Civil Marriage Bill, an act to amend Canada's marriage laws will go to a special parliamentary committee. The government struck the committee to ensure it would proceed to a vote on the proposed law before the House of Commons recesses for the summer. The committee will study the bill then take its report back to Parliament where it will proceed to third reading.

The committee members by party affiliation are;

Don Boudria, Françoise Boivin, Paul Macklin, Anita Neville, and Michael Savage

Rona Ambrose, Gord Brown, Rob Moore, and Vic Toews.

Richard Marceau and Réal Ménard

Bill Siksay

Deputy Speaker Marcel Proulx was appointed by the Speaker of the House of Commons to chair the committee

No comments: